Anne Akiko Meyers Performs Self-Commissioned Violin Concerto

The Masterworks Series Continues

Illustrious violinist Anne Akiko Meyers comes to Annapolis to perform her self-commissioned violin concerto Orchard in Fog with the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra this season. Music Director José-Luis Novo leads the Symphony through the third concert of the Masterworks series, Beethoven Discovers America. Two performances take place on February 28 & 29, 2020 at the Symphony’s home, the Michael E. Busch Center for the Arts at Maryland Hall. On Sunday, March 1, 2020, Meyers and the Symphony, as a member of the Strathmore Affiliate Network, take their performance on the road from Maryland’s capital to the Music Center at Strathmore for a matinee concert.

A World-Renowned Musician

Close up of Anne Akiko Meyers with violin
Anne Akiko Meyers, violin

Anne Akiko Meyers is one of the most internationally renowned and respected classical musicians performing today. Known for her passionate performances, purity of sound, deeply poetic interpretations, innovative programming and best-selling recordings, Meyers frequently performs with the world’s top orchestras. She has expanded the modern violin repertoire with commissions, performances, and recordings of important new works.

A champion of living composers, Meyers has dramatically expanded the violin repertoire by commissioning and premiering works by composers including Julia Adolphe, Mason Bates, Jakub Ciupinski, John Corigliano, Jennifer Higdon, Wynton Marsalis, Arvo Pärt, Adam Schoenberg, and Joseph Schwantner.

Meyers was born in San Diego and grew up in Southern California. She studied with Alice and Eleonore Schoenfeld at the Colburn School of Performing Arts, Josef Gingold at Indiana University, and Felix Galimir, Masao Kawasaki, and Dorothy DeLay at The Juilliard School. Meyers received the Avery Fisher Career Grant, the Distinguished Alumna Award from the Colburn School of Music, the Luminary Award from the Pasadena Symphony and is on the advisory council of the American Youth Symphony Orchestra.

The Famous Violin

Close up shots of the famous violin, the Vieuxtemps Guarneri del Gesù
The Vieuxtemps Guarneri del Gesù

She performs on the Vieuxtemps Guarneri del Gesù, dated 1741, considered by many to be the finest violin in existence for its powerfully luxuriant sound and mint state of preservation. Meyers and the violin were recently featured on the cover of The Strad magazine in a two-part story, and she was the star performer at their inaugural Stradfest.

This Masterworks concert will also feature Beethoven’s Leonore Overture, originally composed for the first revision of his opera Fidelio. Closing the performance is Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra, titled after the way each section of instruments is treated in a soloistic way.