U.S. Naval Academy Glee Club Shares the Stage with Annapolis Symphony

The U.S. Naval Academy Glee Club joins the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra this month for “Cosmic Depth,” the fourth Masterworks concert of the season, taking place at Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts on March 29 & 30, 2019.

Dr. Aaron Smith, Chairman of the Naval Academy Music Department, will serve as guest conductor for Eric Whitacre’s Deep Field, a work inspired by the world’s most famous space observatory, the Hubble Space Telescope, and its greatest discovery – the iconic Deep Field image. The piece will be visually accompanied by a new film, “Deep Field: The Impossible Magnitude of our Universe.” The film illuminates the score by combining Hubble’s stunning imagery, never-seen-before galaxy fly-bys, and captivating animations to create an immersive experience. The Annapolis Symphony’s Music Director José-Luis Novo will then lead the Glee Club and the Orchestra through Ludwig van Beethoven’s renowned 9th Symphony. Vocal soloists include soprano Janice Chandler-Eteme, mezzo-soprano Stacey Rishoi, tenor John Matthew Myers, and baritone Philip Cutlip.

On Sunday, March 31, 2019, the Symphony and the Glee Club are taking this performance on the road to The Music Center at Strathmore. After three years of performing on the Strathmore stage, the Symphony is proud to present its inaugural concert as a member of the Strathmore Affiliate Network.

Tickets for the Maryland Hall performance are available online at annapolissymphony.org or through the Annapolis Symphony Box Office at 410-263-0907. Further inquiries can be emailed to info@annapolissymphony.org.

Tickets for the Music Center at Strathmore performance are available online at strathmore.org or through the Strathmore Box Office at 301-581-5100. COSMIC DEPTH Friday & Saturday, March 29 & 30 | 8 PM Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts Sunday, March 31 | 3 PM Music Center at Strathmore U.S. Naval Academy Glee Club Eric Whitacre, Deep FieldAaron Smith, conductor Ludwig van Beethoven, Symphony No. 9 José-Luis Novo, conductor Janice Chandler-Eteme, soprano Stacey Rishoi, mezzo-sopranoJohn Matthew Myers, tenor Philip Cutlip, baritone The 2018-19 Masterworks season is made possible by a special collaboration with the Faith Goldstein and Jesse Cunitz Center for Film and New Media and a generous grant from Faith Goldstein and Jesse Cunitz, as well as a partnership with the Annapolis Film Festival. The Symphony’s residency at Maryland Hall is made possible in part by a generous grant from Laird Lott and Linda Gooden.