Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto

Masterworks III

Friday & Saturday, February 3 & 4 at 8:00 PM at Maryland Hall

Sunday, February 5 at 3:00 PM at Strathmore Music Center


Pre-Concert Lecture in person at Maryland Hall room 205 from 7:00pm – 7:30pm on Friday, February 3rd and Saturday, February 4th.



Valerie Coleman Seven O’Clock Shout

Ludwig van Beethoven Concerto for Piano No. 5 in E-flat major, op. 73 “Emperor”

Jon Nakamatsu, piano

Juan Crisóstomo Arriaga Overture to Los Esclavos Felices

Dmitri Shostakovich Symphony No. 1 in F minor, op. 10

Inspired by the evening serenades amidst pandemic isolation, Seven O’Clock Shout reminds us of the sacrifices of heroes. Celebrated pianist Jon Nakamatsu is featured in Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 5. Though it is a concerto, its scope is symphonic; a novel innovation for the time and remains the best known and most frequently performed of Beethoven’s five piano concertos. Arriaga’s opera tells the story of plucky Spanish nobles captured as slaves in Africa who find their way to freedom. 18-year-old Shostakovich burst onto the international music scene with his first Symphony, written to fulfill his graduation requirements from the Leningrad Conservatory. We can recognize the unmistakable personal voice that would become his signature.


*Single tickets for the Strathmore performance on February 5, 2023 are on sale through Strathmore’s website. Click here to purchase.