Update: Masks strongly encouraged inside the theatre as well as full COVID-19 vaccination. Click to read more.

Dvořák Symphony No. 7

Masterworks II

Friday & Saturday, November 4th and 5th at 8:00 PM

ASO Chat Available starting October 20th at 8:00 PM



Franz Schubert Rosamunde Overture, D. 644

Lowell Liebermann Concerto for Violoncello, op. 132 (ASO co-commission)

Julian Schwarz, violoncello

Antonín Dvořák Symphony No. 7 in D minor, op. 70

Incidental music by Schubert immortalized the now largely forgotten play by Helmina von Chézy about Cypriot princess Rosamunde seeking to reclaim her lost throne. Co-commissioned by a collection of orchestras, Lowell Liebermann’s cello concerto was first heard by audiences in Toledo, Ohio and reviewed by the Toledo Blade  as “simply beautiful…The orchestrations are richly complex, replete with color, and underlay the solo role of the cello perfectly: balanced, tasteful and resilient.” Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7 is superbly adjusted, intensely expressive music in which melodies appear in almost limitless supply, music fired by a vigorous lyrical Bohemian spirit, warmed by tenderness but never smothered by sentimentality.

Calendar for Dvořák Symphony No. 7