SYMPHONY+ 2021-2022 Season On-Demand Concert Videos

SYMPHONY+ 2021-2022 Season On-Demand Concert Videos
All 5 Masterworks Concert Videos
PLUS The Concert from Spain NEW

Watch ASO Video on Demand from the comfort of your couch!

All Access Annual Household Pass – $99 Videos available to watch up to one year after purchase.

SYMPHONY+ Nati Plays Tchaikovsky
The Annapolis Symphony Orchestra 2021-2022 Season first Masterworks program saw the orchestra return to the stage with live, in person audiences October 1 & 2, 2021 with an Opening Night Celebration of our Masterworks Season.  Our program features Concertmaster and Academy Director Netanel “Nati” Draiblate as soloist. Plus Debussy’s epic depiction of the sea La Mer.

Stephenson: Fanfare for Democracy
Garrop: Pandora Undone
Tchaikovsky: Concerto for Violin
~ Netanel “Nati” Draiblate, violin
Ponce: Chapultepec
Debussy: La Mer

SYMPHONY+ Peter Bay Conducts the ASO
Former Music Director Peter Bay Returned to the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra November 12 & 13 with the second of our Masterworks Concerts. Our Program: PETER BAY CONDUCTS THE ASO featuring the sonic splendor of the ASO’s Low Brass in a special concerto just for them (and you). Plus, Dvořák’s first big hit symphony (originally listed as #1 but now known as #6)

Kodály: Dances of Marosszék
Higdon: Low Brass Concerto
~ with the ASO low brass section
Dvořák: Symphony No. 6

SYMPHONY+ Tribute to Ukraine
Our program was to have included a performance of Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1 with renowned Russian Violinist Vadim Repin. Out of respect for the people of Ukraine experiencing the brutal invasion by Russia and out of concern for the safety of Mr. Repin we cancelled the appearance by Mr. Repin and did not present the Shostakovich Concerto.

In its place we performed Melody by Miroslav Skoryk. The ASO has contributed to the Ukraine Crisis Fund through www.care.org in support of humanitarian relief and would encourage others wishing to support Ukraine to consider making they own contribution.

The ASO is proud to dedicate this Masterworks performance including Melody by Ukrainian composer Miroslav Skoryk to the people of Ukraine.

Skoryk: Melody
~ Special Musical Tribute to Ukraine
Abels: Outburst
Frank: Concertino Cusqueño
Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier Suite

SYMPHONY+ Novo’s Rite of Spring
Perfectly timed for the wild abandon of spring NOVO’S RITE OF SPRING is the fourth of our Masterworks Concerts; April 8 & 9, 2022. Leticia Moreno joins us for a perennial favorite; Mendelssohn’s violin concerto. Plus a rare treat to hear the Mississippi River Suite by Florence Price; the first African-American woman composer.

Florence Price: Mississippi River Suite
Mendelssohn: Concerto for Violin
~ with Leticia Moreno, violin
Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

SYMPHONY+ Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto
The season ends with a bang. SEASON FINALE: TCHAIKOVSKY’S PIANO CONCERTO completes our Masterworks Concerts; May 6 & 7, 2022. Our “Celebrate 60” season finale program begins with world premiere, anniversary commission followed by Tchaikovsky’s sublime Piano Concerto with soloist Olga Kern. As if that weren’t enough; Rachmaninoff rounds out the program with his Symphonic Dances.

Jessica Hunt: Resonance | Rush | Ride
~ ASO 60th Anniversary Commission
~ World Premiere
Tchaikovsky: Concerto for Piano No. 1
~ with Olga Kern, piano
Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances

SYMPHONY+ Concert from Spain
The Annapolis Symphony Orchestra again breaks new ground with a landmark first international tour to Spain in July of 2022.

The Concert from Spain features some of the best compositions representing both sides of the Atlantic Ocean. The legendary Spanish Guitarist Pepe Romero will perform the Concierto de Aranjuez by Joaquin Rodrigo. Mexican composer Manuel M. Ponce’s Chapultepec represents south of the border and Sergei Rachmaninoff adopted by and beloved by Americans of the US variety

Manuel M. Ponce: Chapultepec
Joaquin Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez
Pepe Romero, guitar
Sergei Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 3 in A minor, op. 44